Email updatesClose

This is an example of a possible error message which can have as much lines as you want from none to ...

My accountClose

Sign-in

This is an example of a possible error message which can have as much lines as you want from none to ...

Frequently Asked Questions

Product


a. Where do The Body Shop products come from?

We take care in sourcing the best suppliers globally for all of our products and use strict ethical guidelines when choosing a supplier, while our products are made in a number of countries around the globe. We would like to reassure you that all of the factories we work with in the supply of our gifts and accessories are ethically audited to ensure they are operating in line with our strict ethical trade guidelines.

For your information, the country of origin information is included on the label of every finished product sold by The Body Shop, to ensure our customers can see where items they purchase have come from.

b. Has The Body Shop ever tested on animals?

When it comes to animal testing, we have never, and will never, test our cosmetic products on animals. We also don’t commission others to do it for us. We were one of the first to make a stand against animal testing in the cosmetics industry, and through The Body Shop Foundation, we continue to fund organisations campaigning to end the needless suffering of animals. In fact we campaigned for years to bring about a ban on testing cosmetics on animals. We are among the few companies to comply with the stringent requirements of the internationally recognized Humane Cosmetics Standard. As well as this, we also ensure all our products are suitable for vegetarians and seek out alternative sources of ingredients that do not contribute to the destruction of habitat of endangered animals, or cause animal suffering.

c. How do I know when my product has expired?

The Body Shop products do not list an expiry date on the packaging. Typically, the shelf life for all new products that are unopened is three years. After opening, we recommend that customers finish using the product within 12 months. If the product has become discoloured, it is not advisable to continue using it. You will also notice that there is an 'Open Jar' symbol on the labels of most of The Body Shop products. The symbol looks like an opened lid with a number and the letter "M" on it. The number symbol indicates the number of months after the product has first been opened by the consumer that it will remain in a suitable condition for use. This is often referred to as the "period after opening". We have included this symbol on labels to act as a reminder to consumers that cosmetic products should not continue to be used for excessively long periods, once they have been opened and used.

d. Are all of the ingredients in your products natural?

The Body Shop is a global retailer of naturally inspired, ethically produced beauty and cosmetics products. Wherever possible, we aim to source our ingredients such as plants, herbs, fruits, nuts and so forth from natural sources. We aim to use naturally-based ingredients where possible as constituents in our products, selected for their natural skin caring property.

e. Do your products contain preservatives, additives, alcohol, colour or fragrance?

The Body Shop takes the safety of the products it sells very seriously and has a responsible approach to the use of chemicals in its products.

Preservatives

We proactively assess the chemicals we use against criteria of health and safety, environmental impact and our Against Animal Testing policy. As a result of this process, we prohibit the use of a range of common chemicals in our products. We have also voluntarily restricted use of certain preservatives because of concerns about their possible skin sensitisation effects and because of our stance on animal testing. In addition, all formulations developed for The Body Shop are subject to careful evaluation by independent external assessors.

The policy of The Body Shop is to reduce the total amount of preservatives in our products. Already, we offer the preservative-free Aloe skin care range for sensitive skin as well as several preservative-free products such as our Lip Butter range.

Parabens are approved for use as preservatives across the globe. Used in cosmetic products, they help prevent product spoilage from contamination by microbes once they are opened and in-use. The Body Shop uses Parabens in a number of its products for this purpose. The use of Parabens is highly regulated in many countries and legislation is in place to define which materials may be used for preservative purposes.

The Body Shop has sold millions of products containing Parabens over a period of many years without any evidence or indication of adverse reactions in our customers. However, we will continue to monitor the results of any scientifically credible research into these materials and remain responsive to customer feedback.

Some of our products contain Ethyl Alcohol; this is referred to as ‘Alcohol Denat’ in the ingredients lists given on the packaging.

Alcohol

The word ‘alcohol’ may however, appear in the ingredient list as part of the name of a chemical such as Benzyl Alcohol. Benzyl Alcohol is a solvent which is not drinkable and has no comparable effects to ethanol, the substance found in beers, wines and spirits. Benzyl Alcohol is a chemical that is commonly used as a solvent in fragrances or as a carrier in perfume oils making the fragrance suitable for application to the skin. It has always been used in The Body Shop fragrances and perfume oils. The reason that Benzyl Alcohol now appears in the ingredient listings of some of The Body Shop products is because the EU rules on labeling have recently changed. The new legislation now requires Benzyl Alcohol as well as 25 other fragrance ingredients, to be listed on the label if they appear in the product above certain levels.

The Ethyl Alcohol is present as a solvent and is not intended for intentional ingestion and intoxication. Moreover, all Ethyl Alcohol used in our products is denatured as required by the regulatory authorities in every Market, in which we trade; this renders the Ethyl Alcohol as unsuitable for consumption. The Ethyl Alcohol is manufactured as a synthetic chemical and not by the alcoholic beverage industry. In view of this, our products containing Ethyl Alcohol have been allowed to be sold in all Markets, in which we trade, including those with a predominantly Muslim population.

All other ingredients with the word ‘Alcohol’ in their names are not used in the alcoholic beverages for the purposes of intoxication, have significantly different chemical structures to Ethyl Alcohol and are well established cosmetic ingredients that are fully compliant with Halal requirements.

We will continuously review and update our ethical criteria and guidelines for the development and manufacture of our products, which includes those covering raw materials, derived from non-porcine animal by-products, and will implement action plans for the timely and realistic phase-out of relevant materials from our formulations, as appropriate to maintain the appropriate ethical standards.

Colouring

Whilst one or two companies specialize in selling natural cosmetic products in small, unable quantities, most cosmetic companies would not be able to manufacture all-natural products with consistently high quality and a long shelf life without the use of some synthetics.

The Body Shop does not claim to be an all-natural company. We offer innovative products that are inspired by authentic natural ingredients from indigenous sources and we do use synthetic ingredients – colours, fragrances, preservatives – and we share that information with our customers so they can make informed choices for their individual needs. The Body Shop formulates products which contain the appropriate level of synthetic, naturally-derived ingredients appropriate to meet the needs and safety of the customer.

f. What is Community Trade?

Please click here to find out more about Community Trade

g. Why has my favourite product been discontinued?

To survive in our competitive industry, The Body Shop needs to keep update its ranges in order to offer our customers the best variety. At The Body Shop, we strive to be innovative with our products while keeping in line with our Core Values.

As we move with the times, certain ranges or products may be phased out to make way for newer, more innovative items. This is not just a business decision but also a need to constantly offer products that meet the changing and evolving needs of our customers and that are also better products altogether. Rest assured it is not our policy to discontinue products for the sake of it. Rather it is part of our constant need to find the fine balance between selling products that our customers want and like, and that are sufficiently in demand from a business perspective.

To help you find a suitable alternative in place of the discontinued products, we recommend you to drop in to any one of our stores and have a chat with our friendly and well trained store staff.

h. Where can I find more information on product usage instructions?

If you ever have any questions or are unsure about how to use any of the products, please feel free to approach one of our friendly store staff who will be more than happy to assist you.

i. What is your return & exchange policy?

Goods are not refundable. Exchange is accepted within 7 days with receipt. No exchange for used, damaged, promotional, discounted and outlet items.

j. Where can I get a product catalogue?

For a comprehensive list of our products please visit our website: www.thebodyshop.com.hk.

k. I noticed that your product packaging has changed, can you tell me why?

The Body Shop is always striving to find other innovative ways of reducing our packaging waste and limiting our environmental impact. Our efforts to reduce our environmental impact begin from examining how we can keep post-consumer waste to a minimum. Less than 3% of our products come in separate cartons, and where secondary packaging is used, we use recyclable cardboard made from recycled or sustainable forest materials certified by the Forest Stewardship Council, or FSC. Today, at least 50% of our packaging assortment contains recycled content, and we also launched our first 100% recycled PET bottles last year, and have doubled the recycled content of our average PET bottle to 60%. Last but not least, we also ensure that most of our packaging can be recycled through standard household and business recycling systems.

l. Is there any difference between the products from different markets?

There is no difference in the quality of products around the world. However, certain regions or markets will stock different product ranges due to their market's individual business requirements.

m. Do your products contain Paraben and is this harmful?

Please see response to question (e)

Email updatesClose

This is an example of a possible error message which can have as much lines as you want from none to ...

My accountClose

Sign-in

This is an example of a possible error message which can have as much lines as you want from none to ...

常见问题

产品


a. The Body Shop产品来自哪里?

我们的产品来自世界各地,而我们亦以严格的道德标准,挑选全球最优质的供货商。我们可再次向你保证,为我们提供礼品及配件的供货商均经过连串审核,以确保他们符合我们严格的道德贸易指引。

此外, The Body Shop每件产品上的卷标均有列明产品的原产地,以确保顾客能清楚所购买的产品的来源。

b. The Body Shop有否利用动物测试产品?

我们的化妆产品和原材料绝不使用动物作测试,同时我们亦禁止合作伙伴为我们进行任何相关测试。我们是少数反对动物测试的化妆品零售商,而且透过The Body Shop基金会,我们继续资助反对动物测试机构的运动,以停止对动物的伤害。事实上多年来我们发起多个反对动物测试运动。我们是少数符合化妆品人道准则的零售商。

我们确保素食人士可放心使用我们的产品,亦坚持采用不会破坏及伤害濒临绝种动物及其生态的原材料

c. 我怎样知道我的产品已过期?

The Body Shop的产品并没有在包装上列明到期日。一般来说,所有未开封产品的保存期为3年。当产品开封后,我们建议使用期限为12个月。如产品褪色,则不建议再继续使用。

你亦可在大部份The Body Shop产品的卷标上看到「Open Jar」标志。该标志为一已开启的瓶盖图案,上面有一个数字及「M」字。该数字代表顾客在开封产品后,于一般情况下的使用期限,而这标志通常被称为「开盒期限标志」。我们在产品卷标上包含这标志,以提醒顾客在产品开封及使用后,不应超过标志上的时间。

d. 是否所有The Body Shop产品的材料均源自天然?

The Body Shop是国际性的护理及化妆品零售商,产品灵感均源自大自然及在制作过程中符合道德标准。我们尽可能从自然来源采购原材料,如植物、草本植物、水果、果仁等。我们根据原材料的天然护肤功效,以制造我们的产品。

e. 你们的产品是否含有防腐剂、添加剂、酒精、色素或香料?

The Body Shop十分重视所售卖产品的安全,而且对产品所含的化学成份采取负责任的态度。

防腐剂

我们主动评估产品中所含的化学成份对健康及安全、环境的影响,以及是否符合我们的反对动物测试政策。正因如此,我们禁止某些常用的化学成份出现在我们的产品中。而且,基于我们对肌肤可能引起的敏感反应的关注,以及我们对反对动物测试的坚持,我们也主动限制使用某些防腐剂。

The Body Shop旨在减少产品中的防腐剂含量。我们已为敏感肌肤推出不含防腐剂的芦荟护肤系列,以及数种不含防腐剂的产品,如润唇霜等。

Parabens是一种国际认可的防腐剂,常见在化妆品中。它的作用为防止产品在开启及使用后,因被微生物污染而变坏。因此,The Body Shop在某些产品中使用Parabens。很多国家规定只有某些物质可作防腐用途,而Parabens的使用也被严格管制。

The Body Shop 长久以来已售出数以百万计含有Parabens的产品,直至现在,亦没有证据或迹象显示这些物质对我们的顾客有任何不良影响。我们会一直留意任何对这些物质具有权威性的研究,以及对我们的顾客作出适当的回应。

我们亦有某些产品蕴含酒精成份,产品卷标上通常显示为「Alcohol Denat」。

酒精

「Alcohol」这个字出现在我们的产品卷标上,亦可能是某化学成份的其中一部份,例如Benzyl Alcohol。Benzyl Alcohol是一种溶解剂,并不可饮用,与酒精饮料中的乙醇不一样。Benzyl Alcohol普遍用作香氛溶解剂,又或是香氛油的载体,使其适合涂于人体肌肤上。The Body Shop的香氛及香氛油一直沿用这成份。根据欧盟对产品卷标的法例规定,Benzyl Alcohol等25种香氛成份在超出指定含量时便要列明在产品卷标上,故我们会将有关成份列明于标签上。

于我们的产品中,乙醇(Ethyl Alcohol)亦用作一种溶解剂。根据各国的法例规定,产品中所含的乙醇(Ethyl Alcohol)均需经化学处理,使其不适合饮用,而且不是由酒精饮料工厂制造。故此,我们含有乙醇(Ethyl Alcohol)的产品均认可售卖,当中包括伊斯兰国家。

所有包含「Alcohol」名称的成份,其化学结构亦与酒精饮料不同,均不可饮用,亦获Halal认可,广被化妆业界采用。

我们会一直检讨我们的道德标准及向发展及生产我们产品的供货商给予指引,当中包括原材料及非动物副产品的使用守则。我们亦会将计划付诸实行,使产品生产公式一直推陈出新,以维持我们的道德标准。

色素

全球只有少数公司专门生产全天然的化妆产品,而它们只能作小规模的生产,且产量也不稳定。因此,大部份公司都不能在不使用人工合成成份的情况下,制造出全天然,高质量,而有足够数量的优质产品。

The Body Shop并没有声称为全天然的品牌。我们就地取材,灵感源自天然的原材料以制造创新产品,当中亦包含人工合成成份 – 色素、香料、防腐剂 – 而我们也将这些信息跟顾客分享,使他们在知情的情况下作出选择。The Body Shop的产品含有适量的人工合成成份,产品灵感源自天然的原材料,能迎合顾客的需要,亦可保障顾客的安全。

f. 甚么是社群贸易?

请点击这里参阅我们的社群贸易计划。

g. 为甚么我最喜爱的产品会停产?

要于现时竞争激烈的环境中生存, The Body Shop需要持续更新产品系列,为顾客提供最多元化的选择。我们致力在研发新产品的同时,坚持着我们的核心价值观。

当我们与时并进,某些产品会被停产,而这个决定并不纯粹基于商业因素,亦要符合顾客持续变更及口味变化的需要,因而推出更新颖、质量更好的产品。我们的宗旨并不是为了要产品停产,而是经过我们平衡顾客的需要及喜好,以及实际的销路而决定。

要寻找代替品,我们建议你到我们任何一间分店,我们亲切又训练有素的同事可以为你提供协助。

h. 我可以在哪里得知产品的使用方法?

如你对我们产品或用法有任何疑问,欢迎你到我们任何一间分店,我们亲切又训练有素的同事可以为你提供协助。

i. 你们的退货及换货条款是甚么?

所有产品恕不退款。更换产品需于七天内带同有关收据到任何一间The Body Shop®办理手续。使用过、已损坏、赠品、特价及特卖场产品恕不退换。

j. 我可以从甚么途径取得产品目录?

要参阅更详尽的产品系列,请浏览我们的网页︰ www.thebodyshop.com.hk.

k. 我近日发现产品的包装改变了。为甚么?

The Body Shop一直以来寻求创新方法来减少产品包装,以降低对环境的影响。从我们如何将顾客使用后的废料减至最低,便可以得知我们于保护环境方面的努力。少于3%的产品会额外以纸盒包装。如我们需要额外包装,我们会使用可持续发展及经Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) 认可或可循环再造的物料制造。今天,超过50%的产品包装含有可循环再造物料。我们在去年推出首个以100%可循环再造塑料而制的容器,它们平均的可循环再造物料含量亦增加至60%。最后,我们亦确保我们的包装可以被一般家庭及商业系统循环再造。

l. 在不同地方购买的产品会有分别吗?

在世界各地的The Body Shop所出售的产品,质量并没有差别。可是,某些地区会因应市场需要及法例,而售卖不同的产品系列。

m. 你们的产品含有Paraben吗?这成份有害吗?

请参阅(e)